GAA Club Rankings

Ballyboden St Endas GFC crest
Ballyboden St Endas GFC

'Boden celebrate the club All Ireland and (above) Michael Darragh MacAuley

Ballyboden St. Enda's (CLG Baile Buadáin Naomh Éanna in Irish) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in Knocklyon, Dublin. The Club serves the Rathfarnham, Knocklyon, Ballycullen, Ballyboden, Ballyroan, Firhouse areas. They offer hurling, camogie, Gaelic football, handball, and rounders. They were founded in 1969 after the merger of 2 clubs in the Rathfarnham area - the Ballyboden Wanderers (founded 1910) and Rathfarnham St. Endas (founded 1966).

Their homeground, Pairc Uí Mhurchú is located on the Firhouse Road. It was named Pairc Uí Mhurchú in 1984, after founding member and first chairman of Ballyboden St. Enda's, Ned Murphy (Éamonn Ó Murchú) (1908–1981)

Ballyboden won their first Dublin Senior Football Championship in 1995, defeating Erin's Isle by a single point - 1.07 to 0.09. The club gained their second Dublin Senior Football Championship in 2009, beating local rivals St Jude's by a scoreline of 2.12 to 1.13. A third county title was claimed in 2015 when St. Vincents were beaten on a scoreline of 2.08 to 0.10. 'Boden were also beaten county finalists in 2004, losing to Kilmacud Crokes (1-11 to 2-02). In addition, they have won two Dublin AFL Division 1 titles. The club have also claimed four U/21 Dublin Championships (1995, 1997, 2003, 2014) and six Dublin Minor Football Championships (1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2010).

On 6 December 2015, 'Boden claimed their first Leinster Senior Club Football Championship title, defeating Portlaoise on a scoreline of 2.09 to 1.11, with substitute Aran Waters kicking a dramatic late winning point.

Following victory over Clonmel Commercials in the All Ireland semi-final on a scoreline of 0-15 to 0-10 (following extra time), 'Boden went on to contest their first All Ireland Football final on St. Patrick's day in Croke Park. Following a blistering start that saw them score two goals in the first fifteen minutes, 'Boden won a famous victory, beating favourites Castlebar Mitchels convincingly on a scoreline of 2-14 to 0-07.

Senior County Titles (3)
1995, 2009, 2015

Ballyboden St Endas GFC - Archived Articles

This site uses cookies to improve the service. If you wish to disable them, click here.